When your family lives on the other side of the state, sometimes Christmas ends up being in January.

Scan-150129-0001-16.jpg

Since I’ve owned a Leica I have only ever owned a 50. This made sense at the time – I had a M3 and the M3 and a 50 are like Oreos and a glass of milk…its just silly to have one without the other. As I have continued on this crazy journey I have found that the 50 is either not wide enough or not long enough for a lot of what I shoot. Mostly not wide enough. There would be situations where I just couldn’t take any more steps back to get what I wanted in the frame. So, I’m going to try out the 35mm focal length for a year and see what happens. I am having to re-train my brain that is for sure. Having only a 50, I had a pretty good idea of what was going to be in the frame when I put the viewfinder up to my eye. This obviously has all changed. A lot of my photos look like I am starting all over again, there were not as many keepers from these rolls. But, creatively I think I will get along with the 35mm focal length just fine. I like the increased depth of field for one, a 50 at 1.4 is pretty slim. And although 1.4 at 35mm still provides very shallow depth of field, its not quite as over the top. The classic Voigtlander 35/1.4 SC is no where near as sharp as the VM 50/1.5. The VM 50/1.5 is hellaciously sharp and was almost too clinical for me at times. The little 35 holds its own though, and honestly I’m guessing I won’t be able to tell the difference when printing. I wanted something with some character and the little 35 has that in spades – how can you not love that “glow” from the highlights.

Scan-150129-0001-43.jpg

If your photographs aren’t good enough, you’re not close enough.

Robert Capa

So, hope you enjoy and until next time…as always catch the rest of the set in the link below!

View project

2 Responses to “Christmas in January…Rolls 10 and 11”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

