In the back of my mind I think I have always wanted to do a big long hiking trek. Something like the John Muir Trail, the Appalachian, or Pacific Crest Trail. Maybe just to prove to myself that I could do it. Maybe because as a kid “The Hatchet” was one of my favorite books (not that I would want to be stranded like that). I don’t know why, but the challenge in of itself is appealing to me on some level. I will probably never have the chance to take off enough work while I’m still young to get any of these done. The JMT, at 211 miles, takes about a month and would be the most doable. Having been to Yosemite, Kings Canyon, and Sequoia this past year, I would go back and try it in a heart beat. The PCT is and Appalachian are over 2000 miles – taking 5 months or more to complete. Those are just in America – the Incan Trail, Patagonia, Mont Blanc, New Zealand…the world has a lot of pretty amazing treks. If I ever win the lottery, you better believe the planning will begin.

Until then, walks with my wife, running, and hiking local trails does more than fill the void.

DSC01042.jpg

DSC00951.jpg

DSC00931.jpg

DSC00924.jpg

DSC00903.jpg

DSC00898.jpg

DSC00918.jpg

