I’m in the process of getting everything together to start taking care of all my own black and white film stuff.  I am hoping that in the next week or so I will be ready to go and start posting more often – I have 4 rolls sitting waiting to be developed, one in the camera and 4 waiting to be shot.  Once everything comes in looks like I will have to make a day of processing and scanning.

In the mean time, here are a few shots from the Fourth of July weekend.  On a side note, I love Portra 400 – that stuff seriously rocks.  I always assumed that exposures with film needed to be dead on, but the exposure latitude that Portra gives me allows me to worry less about ruining a shot.  As long as I am pretty close, within a stop or so, things work out.  AND, the dynamic range is fantastic as well.  This is what I want my digital images to look like, who knew I just had to shoot film to do it!  Maybe someday I’ll try the color process at home, I hear it isn’t too much more difficult than B&W.  Until next time…

---_0036.jpg

---_0034.jpg

---_0031.jpg

---_0029.jpg

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Updates”

  1. Mitch Zeissler

    With negative film, expose for the shadows and post-process for the highlights (typically rate the film to be half the printed speed, expose +2 stops in bright sun, then process normally at the rated speed as you want negs on the thin side).

    With slide film or digital, expose for the highlights and post-process for the shadows.

    If you don’t already have one, get a handheld spotmeter so you can accurately meter the areas your want to expose for with negative film; incident meters are fine for slides.

    Reply
    • jkjod

      I actually use an app on my phone as a spot meter a lot of the time when lighting is really harsh…the rest is Sunny 16 or guessing. I have found that the latitude with most film is so high, that even when I guess I get close enough.

      Reply
      • Mitch Zeissler

        Cool — what app is that? And does it use the camera lens as the spot meter? I’d be interested in getting it and trying it myself.

  2. jkjod

    Mitch – the app is called “Pocket Light Meter” and I’m pretty sure it is free. There are others, but this one is a) free and b) seems to work just as well. I like how it is “what you see is what you get” also. This works well for me in tricky lights situations and like I said most other times it is Sunny 16.

    Reply
  3. Jason Gold

    i see the skin tones a bit too red. I have that with Drugstore Fuji(not same as Full price Fuji). Think it’s the scan because Kodak always best skin tone..Love the photos though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

